Opalescent Ghost, Issue Three

Palestine.

Opalescent Ghost Issue 3. Palestine. I’m finding it difficult to be interested in anything beside the genocide being carried out upon the Palestinian people. I keep a portion of my heart and my attention for my family and loved ones and the rest I am reserving/spending on witnessing Gaza. I am finding it vital to my humanity to increase my capacity to look at children covered in rubble dust and blood, some of these children alive, many of them limp and lifeless. Adults walking through rubble with limp, dusty armfuls of the most startling substance on Earth:            child.  A child is a being, full of life and flame and changing shape, until a child becomes a substance, a kind of matter.  What a fortune a person possesses who’s never seen the lively flame of their child-being turned to matter. I was worrying about money, I’ve been worrying about money, and here I have two live sons, taller and taller flames every day. It’s strange: Denying death, hiding from death, turning away from the worst death because it’s too deathy…(something I like to do, by the way, every day of my life, turn away from death. I love it! Can’t turn away fast enough for my taste sometimes)that’s death! You can kill your own flame that way while technically it’s still going. What is a flame? What is the flame I’m talking about? The flame I’m talking about eats through plastic. What’s plastic? Plastic, the plastic I’m talking about, is an artificial shape meant to fit neatly among large quantities of other plastic shapes.The shapes don’t jostle each other. They fit together. Everything agrees and things can carry along as usual. If you interrupt the neat ka-chunk ka-chunk of the long lines of plastic fitting into other plastic, it’s annoying, first of all. An annoyance bubbles along the line of nice busy-ness. What’s this? Who’s doing that? What pain in the ass is doing that? The annoyance can be enough for a sensitive bit of plastic. Nobody wants to be kicked out of where everyone is. Everyone likes to belong. If you feel the whiff of annoyance moving along the line, you know what comes after that and if you’re sensible, you’ll keep it moving in the way where everyone keeps agreeing and everything can keep slotting in, ka-chunk ka-chunk, and everyone’s day will be easier and then everyone can go home and relax. One thing a flame is is a question and that question is WHY Very popular amongst children. It will have been very popular amongst the former children of Gaza, and is surely massively popular among the current ones. Trending, number one. Not just why carpet bombs Although why carpet bombs, excellent question Extremely powerful, that question May not look on the surface as powerful as a carpet bomb but WHY CARPET BOMBS has something undeniable about it but so do carpet bombs carpet bombs have a finality, you have to give them that.Is there more? Is there more to say at this moment? What I really don’t want to say is anything familiar,anything from the world of plastic. I can feel it beckon.“Your readers, your readership, speak to your readership” “With good writing, with an effective newsletter, you always want to-“ “call to action” I’m not giving ADVICE. Do you want advice? What am I supposed to do, wrap it up? Sum it up? Make a little plea? Make a little advertisement? Tie it all together? “And…that’s Gaza! Thanks for listening.” There will be a lot of holes in this thing. Many thoughts left incomplete. Lines of pursuit unpursued. An unfinished feeling. What a coincidence